File Sharing & Content Management via Box
What is Box?
Box offers unlimited, HIPAA-compliant data storage that is free and easy to use. The intuitive cloud-based tool provides secure, 24/7 access to files from any location, on any device.
Share, store, and edit files in the cloud with Box.
Please note: All main campus Box accounts linked to Mednet email addresses were automatically converted to UCLA Health Box accounts on November 7, 2017, when the service became available to everyone in UCLA Health.
How do I use Box?
To use Box, simply visit the UCLA Health Box page and log in using your Mednet AD credentials. You may use Box to manage virtually any type of data.
If you plan on sharing files with external collaborators (users without Mednet emails), you will need to complete the Box 100 training course to ensure HIPAA compliance. External collaboration settings will be enabled after you complete the course.
The course works on the Mednet network using Internet Explorer, Chrome, or Firefox. It is not currently compatible with the Safari browser, or accessible outside of the Mednet network without VPN.
Increase the flexibility of your Box experience by enabling multi-factor authentication (MFA), which allows you to access Box when you’re away from the Mednet network. Share Box files from any location, using any device connected to the internet.
Can I continue to share files using shared links?
Only within Mednet. External "shared links"* will not be permitted for UCLA Health Sciences Box content because anyone with the URL has access to that content, and it is, therefore, not possible to restrict access. However, collaborating via shared folders is permitted** because users are able to restrict and track access.
*Specific URLs created using the "People with the Link: Anyone with the link can view this folder and download its contents" option.
**All users must complete the Box 100 training course before external collaboration settings will be enabled.
What happens if I delete a file?
Deleted files can be recovered from your trash can. If you have accidentally purged your trash can, you have up to 10 days to contact the help desk for file recovery.
What happens to my Box files after I leave UCLA?
Access to your Box account will be canceled when you terminate your association with UCLA. All data within the account will remain intact until it is permanently deleted. Once an account has been permanently deleted, it cannot be restored.
Box Service and Support
Box Features for UCLA Health
We invite you to enjoy all the rich features Box has to offer. Please remember that Box activities must adhere to all UCLA Health Sciences policies and HIPAA regulations regarding viewing and sharing protected health information (PHI) and restricted information (RI).
Take notes online, plan workflows, and communicate with colleagues in real time. Learn More →
Office 365 Integration
Edit Word, PowerPoint, and Excel files directly in Box. Save changes online (no downloads necessary), and edit files at the same time as your colleagues.
Visit Box Storage for UCLA Health to view presentations on Office 365 features.
Invite collaborators and assign access levels, including editor, viewer, and uploader. You may also send a download-only link to Mednet users.
Edit files on one computer that will automatically sync on any other device you use to access Box. To get started, look for the Box Sync icon on your computer’s main navigation folder.
Call 7-Care at 310-267-CARE (x7-2273) if you don’t see the icon or need help using Box Sync.
View all versions of your files, and revert if needed.
Add “@” before a colleague’s name to trigger an alert email with a direct link to the file.
See who did what to your files, and when.
Access on-demand presentations designed to help you use Box’s key features.
Videos and How-to Documents
Find a variety of videos and how-to documents covering everything from using Box desktop applications to recovering files from trash.
Tips and Advice
Discover Box tips and advice on the Box community page.